Dolores Kohl Education Foundation
Kohl Education Prize

The Dolores Kohl Education Foundation has been honoring outstanding educators since 1985, first with the Kohl International Teaching Awards, then later with the Kohl McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Awards. This important commitment continues today with the Kohl Education Prize.

Morton Schapiro and Gary Saul Morson
2017 Kohl Education Prize winner

Sherry Turkle
2016 Kohl Education Prize winner

John Merrow
2015 Kohl Education Prize winner

Dr. Bruce D. Perry
2014 Kohl Education Prize winner

Linda Darling Hammond
2013 Kohl Education Prize winner

Diane Ravitch
2012 Kohl Education Prize winner

2012 Kohl Teacher Award winners

    John Kuijper, Bronzeville Scholastic Academy High School
    Folasade Adekunle, Northwest Middle School
    Abigail Weber, Horatio May Community Academy Elementary School

WGN Kohl Education Prize

Gapers Block interview with John Kuijper


Sharon Feiman-Nemser
Mandel Professor, Brandeis
Arthur Levine
Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation
Terry Mazany
President and CEO,
The Chicago Community Trust
Dr. Samuel J. Meisels
Founding Executive Director,
Buffett Early Childhood Institute
Diana Mendley Rauner
Ounce of Prevention Fund
Crystal L. Olson, Ed.D.
Associate Professor,
College of Education,
California State University, Sacramento
Penelope L. Peterson
School of Education & Social Policy,
Northwestern University
John Telunka
Learning Matters


Van Gogh For All
America's Children's Museum on Wheels: StoryBus
Kohl Education Prize
Kohl McCormick Early Childhood Teaching Awards
Kohl International Teaching Awards
William Hurt, Charles M. Schulz, Oprah Winfrey, and Dr. Shinichi Suzuki are just some of the luminaries who received our Media and Lifetime Achievement Awards

Dolores Kohl Education Foundation

The Dolores Kohl Education

Foundation supports the

development of early literacy

skills through innovative